Office of the Secretary Curtis State Office Building 1000 SW Jackson St., Suite 540 Topeka, KS 66612-1367



Phone: 785-296-0461 www.kdheks.gov

Lee A. Norman, M.D., Secretary

Laura Kelly, Governor

For Immediate Release June 17, 2020

KDHE adds states to travel quarantine list, removes others

TOPEKA – The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) has added three states to the quarantine list: Alabama, Arizona and Arkansas, and removed six states from the list: Connecticut, Illinois, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York and Rhode Island. This is effective for persons returning today, June 17, and moving forward. The state will review/update this list on July 1.

A comprehensive list of those individuals in Kansas needing to quarantine for 14 days includes those who have:

Traveled to:

- Maryland on or after May 12.
- Alabama, Arizona and Arkansas on or after June 17.
- Been on a cruise ship or river cruise on or after March 15.
- International travel on or after March 15.

Others needing to continue quarantining:

• Received notification from public health officials (state or local) that you are a close contact of a laboratory-confirmed case of COVID-19.

Please note these quarantine orders do not apply to critical infrastructure sectors needed to continue operations during this pandemic. Public health, including hospitals, clinics, law enforcement, meatpacking supply, etc. need to have the staffing resources to continue serving Kansans. While KDHE strongly recommends these quarantine restrictions for everyone, we do recognize that services need to continue. KDHE encourages facilities to ensure they have updated their Emergency Preparedness Plans and implement protocols to ensure that no employee comes to work symptomatic.

For more information on COVID-19, please visit the KDHE website at www.kdhe.ks.gov/coronavirus.